Being involved in a car accident can be traumatic, and knowing what to do in the aftermath can feel overwhelming. The situation can be even more stressful considering the cost of repairs, the impact on your health and wellness, and other disruptions brought about by accident. Additionally, you might gain significant points on your license if you're at fault and the accident was caused by illegal or negligent behavior, which could lead to license suspension. 

What Are License Points?

Your driver's license allows you to drive on South Carolina roads. As a licensed driver, you are expected to obey all the applicable traffic laws. The South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles adds points to your license if you get a traffic ticket. The driver's license points are designed to discourage reckless driving. If you receive twelve points, your license will be suspended. 

South Carolina Driver License Point System Based on Violation

The SCDMV assigns points based on the severity of the traffic offense committed. The following violations are six-point violations: 

  • Hit-and-Run 
  • Property Damage 
  • Reckless Driving 
  • Passing a Stopped School Bus 
  • Going 25+ Over the Speed Limit

Four and two-point violations make up a more extensive list and include: 

  • Failing to Yield 
  • Unlawful Passing 
  • Failing to Signal 
  • Failing to Dim Lights 
  • Improper Backing. 

There are other ways you can avoid adding points to your license. A safe way to avoid adding points to your license is to be cautious on the road and respect known traffic laws. 

How Many Points Until My SC Driver License is Suspended?

South Carolina uses a numeric system to manage motorists on state roads. Under this system, each point on your driving record builds up to a set of consequences. For example, drivers who receive twelve or more points during a particular period will have their licenses suspended for a certain period of time.

Whenever you receive six or more points on your record, you will receive a warning notice mail from SCDMV.

  • 12 to 15 points - 3 months suspension
  • 16 or 17 points - 4 months suspension
  • 18 to 19 points - 5 months suspension
  • 20 or more points - 6 months suspension

The South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles may add more points or automatically suspend licenses for commercial drivers with specific traffic tickets.

What to Do if You Have Too Many Points on Your Record

If you receive a suspension warning for accumulating too many points, you have ten days to challenge the suspension. An officer from the Office of Motor Vehicle Hearings will determine your case after a hearing. If you decide to go this route, you may want to contact an experienced lawyer.

You may be eligible for a restricted route license if your license is suspended for excessive points. It's essential to note that you can only get this license once in your lifetime, allowing you to drive to school or work. If you move outside the permitted route, you can be charged with driving under suspension, which will only worsen your situation.

How Our Charleston Car Accident Lawyers Can Help

While you can deal with a traffic ticket independently, handling a more significant issue might require legal help. Contact an attorney at Lesemann & Associates if you have a driver's license suspension issue. We are ready to help you fight for your rights.